Highlight of the Week


Murray, sometimes I think I may be into you. But when I see that you’re not in this picture, I’m feeling a bit blue. These guys, they’re just not cool. They don’t make me drool like you do. Maybe only blue drool cause I’m feeling blue, and missing  you.

Gramophone: Hello, This is Gramophone.
Me: Hi, I’ll like to check if you have “Flight of the Conchords” DVD in stock?
Gramophone: You wait. I check
Gramophone: Right huh? Right of the what?
Me: FLight. F-L-G-I-H-T.
Gramophone: Huh, wat? Start with F ah? F-L is it, ok i find for you. You wait.
**********I Waited ***************************************
(Mumbling at the other end of the phone): Na ge…….Simi…….Si Boh?…….
**********I Waited Long Long ********************************
Gramophone: Sorry, the one with Nia Carrey?
Me: You mean Mariah Carey? No. No nono…
Gramophone: Correct, correct, the one you want F-L-I-G-H-T -T-O-P-T-H-E-C-O-N-C-H-O-R-D-S
Me: er quite close. but no Mariah Carey
Gramophone: Yah that one with Mia Carrey.
Me:ok. er. ok thanks.

That was weird right? Several minutes later, I am still kicking myself in the imaginary groin for saying no. I mean, if Gramophone carries the one and only copy of the Flight of The Conchords with Mariah Carey, why the hell not?!

Then it hit me. The last 6 lines of the dialogue actually went like this. Here we go again:
**********I Waited Long Long ********************************
Gramophone: Sorry, the one we never (ne-er) carry.
Me: You mean Mariah Carey? No. No nono…
Gramophone: Correct, correct, the one you want F-L-I-G-H-T -T-O-P-T-H-E-C-O-N-C-H-O-R-D-S
Me: er quite close. but no Mariah Carey
Gramophone: Yah that one we never (ne-er) carry.
Me:ok. er. ok thanks

Wow, amazing right, the most engaging conversation i had in weeks. So engaging that I’m still thinking about it. But sadly, HMV doesn’t carry it yet, and in Gramophone, they no have.

But I still present to you, “Oh, Dance Baby”, or as I like to call it “Sometimes the taste of love is likened to the milk of a cow who has done no wrong“.

Seriously, why not Mariah Carey? And also, WHAT ELSE DO THE ANG MOHS KNOW ABOUT US?

(Flight of the conchords dvd season 1 and 2 will be available in HMV sometime next week! Say “Murray!”..er i mean “HURRAY” with me!)

Leave a Reply

