Twelve Days of Christmas: The indie edition


20090101044334

Good News! I’ve just woken from a festive slumber (figuratively and literally) and obviously I’m suddenly filled with enough Christmas sentiment to post on my blog again! I started off the morning by listening to Bitte Orca, which was kinda amazing,  so I’ve compiled a little alternative playlist for  today and the rest of the 11 days of Christmas remaining, hoping you would enjoy the holidays to the fullest, one indie confection at a time.

1. Dirty Projectors – Two Doves

Truth be told, I don’t know if there’s a better song to start off the day, as the lithe  guitars and the delicate vocals gently wraps you in pillowy petals of romantic feelings. There’s Angel Deradoorian singing about her lover with eyes like doves, each passing lyric akin to a message of love carried by the silver winged creatures, across majestic mountains and valleys decked in the shiny winter coats of Christmas cheer to warm your heart. It’s really quite beautiful, so with this and the rest of the 11 songs in the playlist, I wish you all the best for the rest of 2009.

2. Arcade Fire – No Cars Go

3. The Last Shadow Puppets – Meeting Place

4. Grizzly Bear – Two Weeks

5. The Dept of Eagles – No One Does it Like You

6. The Dodos – Winter Song

7. Ron Sexsmith – Maybe this Christmas

8. Rufus Wainwright – Smile

Listen

9. Jenny Lewis – Rabbit Furcoat

10. Tokyo Jihen – Tasogare Naki

11. Jim Noir – Tower of Love

Listen

12. My Morning Jacket – Into the woods

[edit: On hindsight, I take back all that Christmas cheer nonsense. Christmas is a pretty miserable holiday considering the fact that this post was supposed to go up in the morning but it didn’t because the internet went wonky on me. Plus i spent the rest of the afternoon getting my hip bruised by happy families tramming their evil spawn along in a crowded shopping mall. So here it is, I wish you had too many log cakes and many a ghastly shock from catching your “fat” reflection in a Christmas bauble. Also I hope you get force-fed lots of egg nog and get epic paper cuts from opening your presents. So here it is again, Happy Holidays to you while I emo myself through all of the other 11 days of Christmas. Sounds fun.]

Leave a Reply

