Evaporar


Photo205-pola01

The French saying for “it makes me sad” is “Cela Me Rend Triste”. Doesn’t sound so stylish right? I guess style and melancholy don’t really gel well with each other?

This is a photo of all the shoes I’ve been neglecting for the past 3 months. Like I said before, I’ve lost complete interest in books and music for a while, and I really can’t be bothered to dress up nicely, which was something I used to take pride in. Then I came across my own shoes while cleaning up, and it makes me kinda sad that I no longer have the urge to wear them.

According to the concept of Mono No Aware:

“a falling or wilting autumn flower is more beautiful than one in full bloom; a fading sound more beautiful than one clearly heard; the moon partially clouded more appealing than full. The sakura or cherry blossom tree is the epitome of this conception of beauty; the flowers of the most famous variety, somei yoshino, nearly pure white tinged with a subtle pale pink, bloom and then fall within a single week. The subject of a thousand poems and a national icon, the cherry blossom tree embodies beauty as a transient experience.

Mono no aware states that beauty is a subjective rather than objective experience, a state of being ultimately internal rather than external. Based largely upon classical Greek ideals, beauty in the West is sought in the ultimate perfection of an external object: a sublime painting, perfect sculpture or intricate musical composition; a beauty that could be said to be only skin deep. The Japanese ideal sees beauty instead as an experience of the heart and soul, a feeling for and appreciation of objects or artwork—most commonly nature or the depiction of—in a pristine, untouched state.”

All  I can think about now is the crazy work week ahead, and that just makes me want to hug my prettiest shoes and hope that everything would just vapourize.

Ok, it wasn’t that dramatic,  just a thought I had and another example of my fascination with Mono no Aware (the pathos of things). If you have the time, read up about the concept here.

Leave a Reply

